top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElicia M. Shreve

A little gift

As promised, I have an excerpt for you from my newest project, a series tentatively titled "a Mother's Love".


The front lights had been turned off, something Ellie was seriously regretting having David do when he left.


"It sounded like it came from the meat department."

Matt nodded and stepped in front of her. It was obvious he knew where he was going. As they crept closer, they could hear footsteps on the broken glass from the shattered case.


"Who's there?" Ellie called out.


A pair of gnarled hands, covered in raw meat, clutched the edge of the counter as Ellie watched the old woman she had spoken to earlier drag herself over the meat counter. She didn't seem to notice as a large shard of glass dug a groove down the length of her calf.


"Ma'am we're closed, what are...." Ellie was cut off by a loud shriek before the woman launched herself at them.


Matt grabbed her wrists as she clawed at his face, her head darting forward as she snapped and snarled at him.


Ellie could see the muscles in his arms straining to hold her away from his face and neck. She ran behind the counter, nearly falling into the broken glass as he foot slipped on the mess the woman had left. Ellie snatched up ball of twine and a sharp knife before racing back.


She slid the last few feet, knocking the old woman's legs out from under her. Matt held her down as Ellie used the twine to bind her hands and feet. The old woman thrashed like and animal, shrieking and growling at them as she kept trying to sink her teeth into someone.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I did it

So I finally followed through on something I have been thinking of doing for over a year. I published my first video on TikTok, and it is a book related character who will be making her in world first

Has it been a year?

It's been over a year since I have posted anything on here. A lot has happened since then, including a cross country move. I am back to living in Georgia. I needed a major change to my life, and that

Life, or something like it

Hello everyone, I'm back. Not a lot has changed since last time, so updates will be random still. On the plus side, I have tentative plans for the near future that will put me into a position where I

bottom of page